Tuesday, November 21, 2017

Win a copy of the Delightful, Cozy, Murder Is a Dirty Business

Posted by Susan J Berger on 3:00:00 AM with 3 comments

 Tricia Sander's debut novel, Murder Is a Dirty Business, is a funny, cozy mystery. The cover says it all.  GCrime Pays. When I read the description, I asked Tricia for a copy.  I loved it and can't wait for the next one. Tricia is giving away an eBook copy to one lucky reader. 
This book combines mystery, humor and women's fiction in one delightful recipe.What a wonderful debut. I love the characters and I didn't guess who did it until the end.I welcome a wonderful new talent in the vein of Jill Churchill and Joan Hess.

Tricia, please tell us a little about yourself. I’m a procrastinator, a fabric hoarder, and I’m addicted to office supplies. Other than that, I’m pretty normal. I student taught 5th grade for one semester. That was all it took to send me packing. I’ve been a telephone operator, operator supervisor, warehouse-person, warehouse supervisor, material coordinator, and a trainer and worked in the same location the entire time, for the same company, even though we went through two mergers/acquisitions. How I survived I will never know.
When eating out, I ALWAYS manage to get the lettuce core in my salad. And if I like something, it will go away. My favorite shampoo-discontinued. Preferred dishcloth-no longer stocked. Most comfy socks on the planet-out of stock FOREVER. My beloved peach mango tea-gone (though I managed to find it in Finland and cleared the shelf.) Please do not tell my friends, though. I act like I don’t like them, so they’ll keep hanging around.  Cheers!
I love firsts, so tell me about the moment when a publisher told you they wanted to publish your book. Blew me away. A critique partner suggested I submit to her publisher. I fully expected a rejection because they primarily publish romance. Mine has elements of romance, but not really a full-blown love story. When I received the acceptance, I couldn’t stop smiling. I must have read the email twenty times before I believed it. I showed it to my husband, then started phoning and emailing my family and friends. My husband took me out to dinner to celebrate, and the celebration continues.
Other than your own, who are your favorite (heroes/heroines/writers) in your genre? Stephanie Plum (Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum Series) and Goldy Schulz (Diane Mott Davidson’s Culinary Mystery Series) are my favorite heroines. They are quirky and sassy. Two combinations I love. My all-time author crush is Harlan Coben. I literally will not put down a Coben book until I am finished. Then I go into depression because I must wait for the next one.
 What is your favorite pastime, other than writing? Traveling and photography. I can’t pin it down to one. My family didn’t travel when I was a child. So, wanderlust is not genetic. Almost every part of traveling appeals to me, except maybe airport delays, but even delays can provide fodder for interesting novels. In 2013, I visited my 50th state—Oregon, and I’ve been to all the Canadian provinces, except one. The last couple of years I’ve managed to go to Italy, Croatia, Greece, Russia, Finland, Sweden, The Netherlands, Brussels, Denmark, Estonia, Germany.
My major coup this year was Kenya and Tanzania, Africa, which was capped with a hot air balloon ride over the Maasai Mara. I already have plans for Spain, Morocco, The Canary Islands, and Portugal for later this year and Qatar and Oman next year. If you want to see some of my travel photos, check out my website. www.triciasanders.com
 Any advice for new writers just starting out? Do not let the critics get you down. You’re doing this for you, because you have a story to tell. Not everyone will like it, much like you have books you didn’t particularly care for. With that said, be careful with your words to other writers. You can squash someone’s dream with negative feedback. Always took for the positive.

When Cece Cavanaugh’s husband empties their joint bank account, steals her designer luggage, and runs off with a younger woman, Cece must decide whether to ask her manipulative mother-in-law for a handout or get a job. Choosing the easier path, Cece lands a job cleaning a crime scene where a high school coach was murdered. When his wife is implicated—a young woman Cece practically raised—Cece finds herself mopping floors, balancing an empty checkbook, and ferreting out a killer.
Amid all this messy business, Cece bumps heads with a handsome detective. She tries to ignore her growing attraction to the detective, but he gives new meaning to the term “hot flash.”
After she stumbles onto a clue that could vindicate her friend, her elation turns to panic when she haphazardly confronts the killer. Through the danger and romance, Cece discovers self-reliance and inner strength.
And that crime – at least, someone else’s – does pay the bills.

What’s your current WIP? I am working on Book 2 of the Grime Pays series. Cece continues to get herself in trouble when she agrees to clean a hoarder’s home. I also have a women’s fiction novel in progress which features a traveling widow.
Can I be a beta reader?

And finally, where can we find you?
YouTube Book Trailer: https://youtu.be/OXRJSRSmTjg
And my local Panera Bread Co.

Thank you for being here, Tricia. And thank you, dearest readers for reading to the end. I am so grateful for each and every one of youl
RaffleCopter below.




a Rafflecopter giveaway

3 comments :

Post a Comment

I love reading comments! Please do.